Cumbria Observatory Logo
Statistic Bars

The Indices of Deprivation

The English Indices of Deprivation (ID) is a key data set produced by the Department for Communities and Local Government (CLG).  The Indices measure levels of deprivation across seven domains:

  • Income Deprivation;

  • Employment Deprivation;

  • Education Skills and Training Deprivation;

  • Health Deprivation and Disability;

  • Crime;

  • Barriers to Housing and Services; and

  • Living Environment Deprivation.

Two supplementary indices are also produced:

  • The Income Deprivation Affecting Children Index (IDACI); and

  • The Income Deprivation Affecting Older People Index (IDAOPI).

Indices of Deprivation 2015

For information about Cumbria's performance in the Indices of Multiple Deprivation 2015 please view the documents below:

Indices of Deprivation 2015 Maps

Thematic maps of Cumbria's Lower Super Output Areas (LSOAs) are available for each of the domains of deprivation below:

The Domains and Indicators

Further information about the domains and indicators can be viewed in The English Indices of Deprivation Research Report (section 2.5)

Indices of Deprivation - Archives

Previous versions (2004, 2007 and 2010) of The English indices of Deprivation can be found here.


Further Information

Further information about the Indices of Deprivation is available from the Department for Communities and Local Government

If you have any additional questions about the information on this page please contact the Observatory team on

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional