Cumbria Observatory Logo
Statistic Bars
Useful links
County and District Councils

County Council Electoral Divisions

Map of Cumbria

County councils do not use traditional wards for electing councillors.  Instead they use their own, larger units which are called electoral divisions.

Aside from electoral information, there is very little available at this level, therefore it is only usually advisable to use this geography if you are specifically interested in electoral boundaries.

Approximate 2011 Census figures for Electoral Divisions can be built up from Output Areas.  

Electoral divisions may contain full or part wards and parishes so it can be difficult to accumulate data at other geographical levels to fit the boundaries. However, it is useful to consider the profiles of the wards or LSOAs that fall fully or partially within each electoral division, to get an understanding of the characteristics of that electoral division.

For lists of Cumbria's electoral divisions with the wards / LSOAs that fall fully or partially within their boundaries, and the proportions of each electoral division's resident population that live within each ward / LSOA, please click on the links below:

To view a map of Cumbria's county council electoral division boundaries, please visit our Maps and Boundaries (external link) page and use our interactive Cumbria Geography Atlas (external link); once you load the atlas via the Maps & Boundaries page you will need to click on the check box to show 'Cumbria County Council Electoral Divisions' in the legend window of the atlas.

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional