Cumbria Observatory Logo
Statistic Bars
Useful links
County and District Councils


Map of the UK

Cumbria is one of 33 counties. County boundaries exist primarily for local government administration purposes. 

As a county, Cumbria covers an area of 6,767 km sq; making it the second largest county by area in the country.

Most datasets are available at a county level and so this may be a good starting point when gathering information.  However, as Cumbria is a diverse county, it may also be worth gathering statistics broken down at lower levels of geography in addition to county figures.

To view a map of Cumbria's county boundary, please visit our Maps and Boundaries page and use our interactive Cumbria Geography Atlas.



Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional