Cumbria Observatory Logo
Statistic Bars
Useful links
County and District Councils


Map of Cumbria

Cumbria is divided into six local authority districts for local government administrative purposes.  The six districts are:

  • Allerdale;

  • Barrow-in-Furness;

  • Carlisle;

  • Copeland;

  • Eden; and,

  • South Lakeland. 

Districts are probably the most widely used geography for the statistics we provide as most data sets are available at this level.  District level data can be used to illustrate differences in Cumbria, as often the districts are very different to one another. It can often be useful to compare district figures to figures for the whole of Cumbria.

To view a map of Cumbria's district boundaries, please visit our Maps and Boundaries (external link) page and use our interactive Cumbria Geography Atlas (external link); once you load the atlas via the Maps & Boundaries page you will need to click on the check box to show 'District Boundaries' in the legend window of the atlas.

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional