Cumbria Observatory Logo
Statistic Bars
Useful links
County and District Councils


Map of Cumbria

Parishes are small administrative areas, used only in England.  Cumbria has over 260 parishes in total. 

Parishes are subject to boundary change, which can make it difficult to compare data over time. It is also important to note that some urban areas of the county do not sit within parishes. As a result, parish data is becoming less widely used since the introduction of Lower Super Output Areas (LSOAs) and there are no longer many data sets available at this level.

Approximate 2011 Census figures for parishes can be built up from Output Areas (external link). These figures can be accessed via our Parish Profiles page.

Parishes often sit within ward and LSOA boundaries. Parishes can also extend across ward and LSOA boundaries. Therefore, it can be difficult to accumulate data at other geographical levels to fit parish boundaries.

However, it is useful to consider the profiles of the wards (external link) or LSOAs (external link) that parishes fall fully or partially within, to get an understanding of the characteristics of the area that the parish covers.

For lists of Cumbria's parishes with the wards / LSOAs that they sit fully or partially within, and the proportions of each parish's resident population that live within each ward / LSOA, please click on the links below:

To view a map of Cumbria's parish boundaries, please visit our Maps and Boundaries page and use our interactive Cumbria Geography Atlas; once you load the atlas via the Maps & Boundaries page you will need to click on the check box to show 'Parishes' in the legend window of the atlas.





Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional